You can’t ever be really free if you admire somebody too much.

* * * * *

How true this is: a couple of weeks ago I saw a picture of an old friend and mentor and something about the picture jolted me.  I hadn’t been around when the picture was taken and the picture itself portrayed a person I did not know.  It wasn’t an inappropriate picture, it was perfectly natural and common.  And for a few days after I was angry and I was hurt.  I was angry that my mentor never portrayed that side of himself.  I was angry that there was a hidden life,  but it was only hidden to me, or so it seemed.  And I promised myself that day that I’d never again do something because I thought it would please this person.  Why should I,  when he ,obviously, was not the person I thought he was.

And you don’t know how scary or how freeing that has been.

 

